Soup

HOW TO COOK MELON (EGUSI) SOUP

INSPIRING WORD FOR THE DAY
It is always important to put God first in everything we do, so that whatever we are doing wither Big or Small we will have positive result. because He(Christ) is the Father of all Success,without him nothing is possible. So my fellow readers in everything you do, no matter how little it may be never you fail to acknowledge the Name of God.

HOW TO COOK MELON(EGUSI) SOUP

It is always necessary to prepare different variety of soup in your Home.
Today i will be discussing on HOW TO COOK MELON SOUP.
Melon soup is called ”Efere Ikon” in Efik & Ibibio Language, Cross River, Akwa Ibom State and it is also called Egusi soup in Igbo Language.

RECIPES
(i) Water (ii) Melon(grounded) (iii) Bitter leaf (iv) salt (v) Pepper(grounded) (vi) Seasoning cube(liquid or solid) (vii) Cray fish(grounded) (viii) Onion (ix) Periwinkle (x) Dry fish (xi) Beef (xii) Skin(kpomo) (xiii) Palm oil(350ml)
There are two different methods in preparing this soup. We have both the Fried method and the Water method. But my preffered method is the Fried type, the water method will be discussed on our Subsequent Post.

PROCEDURES

Step 1. First of all wash the beef,fish,skin,and periwinkle very well, put them in a clean pot, add a spoon of pepper, a spoon of salt, divide the bulb of onion into two equal parts, use one part to steam the ingredients, then add seasoning cube and a little water to it allow to steam for 3 minutes.
Step 2. After steaming them, get your melon turn them into a clean bowl, add a little bit of water to the melon for it to rise.
Step 3. Place your second pot on the cooker to heat, then pour the palm oil at mos(350ml) or less than that into the heated pot.
Step 4. Chop the remaining part of the onion and turn it into the hot oil.
Step 5. Immediately use a clean spoon to put the melon bit by bit( as if you are frying Akara ) into the oil, stir for 30 seconds before you put it down.
Step 6. Now place the pot you used in steaming the ingredients on the cooker, turn the well fried melon inside it, make sure that your seasoning cube, salt, pepper, and water are in a normal proportion, you can now add the cray fish and allow it to steam for 2 minutes.
Step 7. Open the pot again and add your bitter leaf to the melon soup, leave it on the cooker for 3 minutes for the oil to be excellently cooked.
Step 8. Before putting it down, taste to know if all the ingredients are blended.
WELL DONE YOU CAN NOW SERVE YOUR MEAL EITHER HOT OR COLD.

TIPS
* Always note that it is very important to come back home and wash your bitter leaf and even slice it again to reduce the bitter taste after you might have bought it from the market.
* Remember that the thickness and the quantity of the soup will be determined by you(as in the amount of water you add when preparing it).
Do not forget to cut the head and tail of the periwinkle, even to clean the beef, skin and fish properly before making use of them.
Here is a wonderful Gospel track to bless your life today, download it free of charge at http://www.riturecords.jimdo.com the track name is “NO OTHER NAME ” by 2G(Gift of God), it is my single promo track, feel free to comment on the track. Thanks and God Bless you all.

421 thoughts on “HOW TO COOK MELON (EGUSI) SOUP”

  1. Keep up the fantastic work , I read few blogs on this
    site and I believe that your websiteis very interesting and has plenty of great info.

    Like

  2. I have been surfing on-line greater than three hours today, but I never found any interesting article
    like yours. It’s lovely price sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made
    good content as you did, the web will likely be much more useful
    than ever before.

    Like

  3. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all of us you really
    realize what you’re talking approximately!
    Bookmarked. Please also consult with my site =).
    We could have a hyperlink exchange arrangement between us

    creditos rapidos al instante

    Like

  4. I don’t make it a habit to make comments on several articles, yet this one deserves
    attention. I agree with the information you have written so eloquently here.
    Thanks a lot.

    Like

  5. I am no longer certain where you’re getting your information, but good topic.
    I needs to spend a while finding out more or figuring out more.

    Thank you for excellent information I used to be on the lookout for this information for my mission.

    Like

  6. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts on this sort of
    area . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this website.
    Studying this info So i am happy to express that
    I have an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I
    came upon just what I needed. I most certainly will make sure to don?t fail
    to remember this site and provides it a look on a relentless basis. http://www.lycollege.com/

    Like

  7. Unquestionably believe that that you stated.
    Your favourite reason seemed to be on the web the simplest factor
    to remember of. I say to you, I definitely get irked whilst
    other people think about worries that they just do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the highest and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , other folks could take a signal.
    Will likely be again to get more. Thank you

    Like

  8. I love the information in this post. It’s clever, well-written as well as simple to understand.
    You’ve gotten my attention on this subject. I’ll be back for even more enlightening
    blog posts.

    Like

  9. Have you ever thought about writing an e-book or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss and would
    love to have you share some stories/information. I know my readers would appreciate your
    work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free
    to send me an e-mail.

    Like

  10. This is really fascinating, You’re an excessively professional blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look ahead to searching for extra of your wonderful post.
    Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks

    Like

  11. I haven’t checked in here for a little while because I thought it was getting boring, but
    the last few posts are really good quality therefore I
    guess I’ll add you back to my day-to-day bloglist. You deserve it my friend.

    Like

comment on this post

