Naija Foodie Update

Foodie Naija Update (Vendors & Pure Water Sellers Cashing Out at Fuel Stations Due to Scarcity)

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that in most fuel
stations along the Airport Road, some food vendors where seen selling food and sachet water to
drivers waiting to buy fuel.

One of the vendors, Funke Joseph, who spoke to NAN, said
that the current fuel situation had helped increase her sales.
“I saw the long queue and I knew some of them slept here and would be hungry by now, so i used the opportunity to come
and sell to them.

As you can see , people are buying my snacks and I have
made lot of sales already this morning more than what I
would have made at my stand,” she said.

Idris Umar, a sachet water seller, said that business was really
good at the petrol station, adding that he had sold more
than five bags of water this morning.
Umar said that the drivers were willing to buy the water whether cold or not.

“I have sold almost
five bags of pure
water just this
morning only on this
queue; the drivers
are rushing the
water because of the
hot weather.

“I even had to call my
brother to come
here and sell their
water because the
demand is more
than supply.”

Patience Okeke, a bean cake seller, said that she used the
opportunity of the fuel situation to hawk ‘akara’ at the filling station, adding that she sold them off within a short time.

“I was here yesterday and I finished selling all my akara. So, today I said I must come back and I will keep coming everyday till the fuel issue ends.

In my area where I
sell my akara,
sometimes I return
home without selling
everything so this is
a good opportunity
for me to make more
money to take care
of my family.”

NAN also reports that some drivers spent the night at the
filling stations and some were seen lying down on top of their
vehicles waiting for the filling station to commence sales for
the day.

A motorist, Adebowale Adebayo,
who also spoke to NAN, said that he had to sleep in the filling
station to ensure he got fuel.

“I left my office yesterday after I
closed from work at around 6p.m. and headed straight to the filling station: this is almost 9a.m. and I have still not bought fuel.”

Another motorist, Adamu Bello, said that he also slept at the filling station in order to get fuel
in the morning.

“I decided to sleep
here so I can be sure
of getting fuel today;
if I did not do that
only God knows
when I will get fuel.
At least the queue is
moving gradually so
I know it would
soon be my turn.”

NAN reports that the fuel scarcity has lingered for over two weeks. (NAN)

comment on this post

